Best Meeting Transcription Software in 2026: A Sourced Comparison
Most roundups rank the publisher first and quote prices nobody dated. This one states the method, shows the arithmetic behind cost per hour, and names the cases where another tool is the better buy.
There is no single best meeting transcription tool. There is a best one for whichever constraint is actually binding on you: a three-hour recording that most free plans cut off, a budget measured per hour rather than per seat, a language nobody supports well, or a rule about where the audio may be processed. This page compares fifteen tools on exactly those constraints, with every price and limit read off the vendor's own pricing page on 22 September 2026.
Kalima publishes this list, Kalima is one of the fifteen rows, and the tools are not ranked. The sections below are organised by what you need, and one of them is about the cases where Kalima is the wrong answer.
How this list was made
The method matters more than the verdict, because almost every comparison in this category is written by a vendor who put itself at the top.
- What was checked. For each tool: the entry paid price and its billing unit, the free-tier limit in minutes and the per-recording cap, the number of transcription languages, whether something joins the meeting as a participant, whether live translation exists, the hosting statement in the vendor's own words, and whether there is a desktop app.
- Where it was checked. The vendor's own pricing page, linked on the tool's name in the table. Nothing was taken from a review site, a directory or a competitor's blog post.
- When it was checked. 22 September 2026. Every row carries that date, because six of these vendors changed prices or shipped a new capture mode within the past year.
- What "not stated" means. If a pricing page does not state a fact, the cell says so. It does not mean the tool cannot do it. Fireflies.ai renders its prices in JavaScript and returned no figures, so its price cells are empty rather than guessed.
- What was not normalised. Currencies are left as each vendor publishes them, because exchange rates move and a converted figure would age badly. Tax treatment differs too: Kalima's euro prices include VAT, Sally publishes excluding VAT, and the US vendors publish net.
The comparison table
Prices are the entry paid tier. Free-tier cells give the pool first and the per-recording cap second, because the second one is what usually stops you.
| Tool | Entry paid price | Free tier | Languages | Something joins the call | Live translation | Hosting, in the vendor's words | Desktop app | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Otter.ai | Pro 16.99 USD per user/month, 8.33 USD annual | 300 min/month, 30 min per conversation | 6 (English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Chinese) | Yes, "Joins Zoom, MS Teams, and Google Meet" | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Mac and Windows | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Fireflies.ai | Not readable (prices render in JavaScript) | Not readable | "Spanish, French, Portuguese, Italian, and 100+ other languages in beta" | Yes, notetaker bot; also "Record using Chrome extension without Fireflies bot" | Not stated on pricing page | "Our database is hosted in a virtual private cloud", no geography | Yes, "Desktop app (Download)" | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Fathom | Premium 20 USD/month, 16 USD annual | "Unlimited recordings + transcriptions", no per-recording cap stated | Not stated on pricing page | Both: "Choice of bot-free* and bot capture-types (*Beta feature for Mac)" | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Notta | Pro 13.61 USD/month, 8.17 USD annual | 120 min/month, 3 min per conversation | Not stated on pricing page | Both: bot for Zoom, Teams, Meet, Webex, or "Notta Desktop" bot-free on Mac and Windows | Yes, "Monolingual Translation" and "Bilingual Transcription & Translation" | "Amazon Web Services (AWS)", no region stated; "SOC2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified" | Mac and Windows | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Krisp | Core 16 USD per user/month, 8 USD annual | 7-day trial only, no permanent free tier | "Transcripts and summaries in 16+ langs" | "Record with bot" listed on Core and Advanced | Not for Meeting AI; Call Center AI lists "Real-time speech-to-speech translation in 60+ languages" | Not stated for standard tiers; Enterprise offers "Data center location choice" | Not stated on pricing page | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Read AI | Pro 19.75 USD/month, 15 USD annual | 5 meeting transcripts/month, 1 hour maximum meeting length | "support for 16+ languages" | Yes, "Add Read Assistant to any Zoom, Teams, or Meet meeting" | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | "Windows, MacOS, Android, and iOS apps" | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Tactiq | Pro 6.67 EUR/month billed yearly (8 EUR monthly) | 10 transcripts/month, 5 AI credits/month, no length cap stated | Not stated on pricing page | No, works through a Chrome extension | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | "native Mac app" | 22 Sep 2026 |
| tl;dv | Pro 29 EUR/month, 216 EUR/year (18 EUR/month) | Free plan exists at 0 EUR, limits not readable | Not readable | Not readable | Not readable | Not readable | Not readable | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Sonix | Core 25 USD/month (5 hrs/mo); pay as you go 10 USD/hr | 30 min free trial | "54+ languages" | No meeting recording on the pricing page, file-based | Yes, "Translation runs on your transcription hours" | "GDPR compliance (Europe)" listed for Enterprise only | Not stated on pricing page | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Transkriptor | Lite 9.99 USD/month (300 min); Pro 19.99 USD/month (2,400 min) | "Free - 90 Minutes" | "Record and Transcribe in 100+ Languages" | Yes, "Meeting Bot for Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams" | Yes, "Translate to 100+ Languages" | Not stated on pricing page | "Available in Web, iOS and Android" | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Jamie | Plus 21 EUR/month annual | 10 AI notes/month, 30 min meeting duration limit | "Notes & transcripts in 99+ languages" | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | "Hosted in EU & GDPR compliant" | Mac and Windows downloads linked | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Sally | Starter 8 USD/month after a 30-day trial, billed annually, excl. VAT | 30-day trial, no permanent free tier | "AI-Transcription in 103 languages" | Yes, "MS Teams, Google Meet, Zoom & Webex" | Not stated on pricing page | "All data is hosted on EU servers in Germany" | Not stated on pricing page (iOS and Android listed) | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Bliro | Not stated on pricing page ("Talk to a human") | Not stated on pricing page | "Unlimited GDPR-compliant transcription in 50+ languages" | Page describes device-side capture; "Bliro doesn't save audio or video files" | Not stated on pricing page | "All data is processed on servers in the EU in accordance with GDPR" | "Windows, Mac and iOS App" | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Amberscript | Starter 19 EUR/month (5 h/month); pay as you go 10 EUR/hour | Not stated on pricing page | "Über 90 Sprachen verfügbar" (over 90 languages) | No, file-based | Translated subtitles priced separately, custom pricing | "DSGVO-konforme Dateispeicherung auf EU-Servern" (GDPR-compliant file storage on EU servers) | Not stated on pricing page | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Kalima | Plus 14.99 EUR/month or 149.99 EUR/year, VAT included | 2 h/week, 45 min per live session, uploads 30 min and 50 MB, 5 per week | 60, with automatic detection and mixed-language sessions | No, nothing is added to the participant list; audio is captured on your own device | Yes, one-way or two-way while people speak | "All primary processing happens on EU-based servers. Where data must leave the EU, we use Standard Contractual Clauses or equivalent safeguards." | Windows, macOS and Linux | 22 Sep 2026 |
For the seven tools people most often shortlist next to Kalima there is a dated head-to-head page with the same discipline applied one tool at a time: Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai, Fathom, Notta, Sonix, Tactiq and Zoom AI Companion. Kalima's own plan limits in full are on the pricing page.
Two tools German universities recommend do not fit the table because they are not services and have no pricing page: noScribe (GPL-3.0, "runs completely locally on your computer", Whisper-based, around 60 languages, Windows, macOS and Linux) and aTrain (AGPL-3.0, "processes the provided speech recordings completely offline on your own device", developed at the University of Graz). Both are free, both do speaker separation, and both transcribe files rather than live meetings. Checked 22 September 2026.
How long a single recording may run
This is the limit that breaks the most purchases, and it is the one listicles bury. A monthly minute pool tells you nothing if the tool stops at minute 91 of a council meeting. The complaint shows up almost word for word in journalism forums: a paid plan, a 90-minute cap, and a monthly pool that runs out before the reset.
| Tool and tier | Longest single recording | Pool | Source, checked 22 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otter Basic (free) | 30 min per conversation | 300 min/month | otter.ai/pricing |
| Otter Pro | "Up to 90 mins/meeting" | 1,200 min/month per user | otter.ai/pricing |
| Otter Business | "Up to 4 hours/meeting" | Unlimited | otter.ai/pricing |
| Notta Free | 3 min per conversation | 120 min/month | notta.ai/en/pricing |
| Notta Pro | "Up to 5 hours per recording" | 1,800 min/month | notta.ai/en/pricing |
| Read AI Free | 1 hour | 5 transcripts/month | read.ai/pricing |
| Jamie Free | 30 min | 10 AI notes/month | meetjamie.ai/pricing |
| Fathom Free | Not stated | "Unlimited recordings + transcriptions" | fathom.ai/pricing |
| Transcribe in Word (Microsoft 365) | Not stated | "a maximum of 300 minutes of uploaded audio per month" | support.microsoft.com |
| Kalima Free | 45 min live session; uploads 30 min, 50 MB, 5 per week | 2 h/week | /pricing |
| Kalima Plus | 180 min live session; uploads 180 min, 500 MB, 25 per week | 10 h/week | /pricing |
| Kalima Pro | 300 min live session; uploads 300 min, 1 GB, 50 per week | 42 h/week | /pricing |
Kalima has caps too, and they need saying plainly rather than hiding behind the word unlimited. Uploaded files are capped lower than live sessions on every tier, and no single uploaded file may exceed five hours on any plan, including Enterprise. A three-hour meeting therefore needs the Pro tier on Kalima, Business on Otter, or Pro on Notta.
The weekly reset, explained, because a monthly comparison flatters Kalima unfairly. Kalima's included time is granted per calendar week and resets every Monday at 00:00 UTC. It does not roll over. Ten hours a week is not the same as 43 hours a month: if you record 30 hours in one week and nothing for the next three, you get ten, not 43. Anyone whose work arrives in bursts, a conference season or a research fieldwork phase, should compare against a monthly pool with that in mind, or buy top-up time, which does not expire. If your volume is steady, the weekly basis is in your favour, because it refills four or five times per billing cycle.
What an hour of transcription actually costs
Divide the published price by the published included volume. Nothing else. Figures read 22 September 2026.
| Plan | Arithmetic | Cost per included hour |
|---|---|---|
| Sonix pay as you go | Published rate | 10.00 USD |
| Amberscript pay as you go | Published rate | 10.00 EUR |
| Sonix Core | 25 USD / 5 h per month | 5.00 USD |
| Amberscript Starter | 19 EUR / 5 h per month | 3.80 EUR |
| Transkriptor Lite | 9.99 USD / 300 min (5 h) | 2.00 USD |
| Amberscript Power | 49 EUR / 25 h per month | 1.96 EUR |
| Otter Pro, monthly | 16.99 USD / 1,200 min (20 h) | 0.85 USD |
| Transkriptor Pro, monthly | 19.99 USD / 2,400 min (40 h) | 0.50 USD |
| Notta Pro, monthly | 13.61 USD / 1,800 min (30 h) | 0.45 USD |
| Otter Pro, annual | 8.33 USD / 20 h | 0.42 USD |
| Kalima Plus | 179.88 EUR per year / 520 h (10 h x 52 weeks) | 0.35 EUR |
| Notta Pro, annual | 8.17 USD / 30 h | 0.27 USD |
| Transkriptor Pro, annual | 8.33 USD / 40 h | 0.21 USD |
| Kalima Pro | 293.88 EUR per year / 2,184 h (42 h x 52 weeks) | 0.13 EUR |
Three honest caveats sit on top of that table.
First, the cheapest number on it is not the cheapest deal. Fathom's free plan states "Unlimited recordings + transcriptions" at 0 USD. That is not a trial and not a teaser rate, and no per-hour figure can beat it. If unlimited recording is the whole requirement, the comparison ends there. Notta Business and Otter Business also state unlimited transcription, at 27.78 USD and 30 USD per user per month respectively, so past roughly 60 hours a month Otter Business costs less per hour than Otter Pro does.
Second, the low Kalima figures assume you actually use close to the weekly allowance every week, for the reason set out above. The realistic figure for bursty usage is higher.
Third, a per-hour price says nothing about whether the transcript is usable in your language, whether the tool can capture the audio source you have, or whether it may hold the recording at all. Those decide more purchases than price does.
If you need X, look at Y
The most free capacity: Fathom. Unlimited recordings and transcriptions on a free-forever plan, with a choice of bot or bot-free capture, the bot-free option in beta on Mac. Nothing else in the table competes on that axis.
The widest integration surface: Fireflies.ai. Its pricing page would not give up its numbers, but its positioning is integration depth across conferencing platforms and downstream tools. If your requirement is that the transcript lands automatically in a CRM and a dozen other systems, that is Fireflies' argument, and Kalima does not have it: Kalima offers a REST API and an MCP endpoint, not a catalogue of prebuilt connectors.
Recorded files rather than meetings: Sonix, Amberscript, Transkriptor. These are file-in, text-out services. Sonix states 54+ languages with translation running off the same hours. Amberscript publishes EU file storage and sells human transcription alongside the automatic tier. If you have a folder of interviews and no live requirement, a per-hour service is usually cheaper than a seat.
One interview, no budget, and it must not leave the laptop: noScribe or aTrain. Free, open source, offline, speaker separation included. Slower, and you have to install Python-era tooling and wait for your own CPU or GPU, but for a single thesis interview this beats paying anyone.
A three-hour session transcribed live: Kalima Pro, Otter Business, or Notta Pro. Those are the tiers in the table whose stated per-recording ceilings clear three hours. On Kalima that is a 300-minute live session, with the transcript appearing while people speak and live translation into one or two languages if the room needs it.
Mixed-language meetings: Kalima, Notta, Transkriptor. All three state translation on their pricing pages. Only Kalima and Notta state it as a real-time function rather than a translation of the finished text. Kalima detects languages automatically across 60 and handles a session where people switch languages mid-sentence.
Audio that is not a meeting at all: Kalima. Everything in this table that joins the call can only transcribe the call. A webinar you are watching, a video playing in a browser tab, a talk in a lecture hall, or a conversation across a table are not meetings a bot can be invited to. Kalima's desktop app captures the microphone, the system audio, or both mixed, on Windows, macOS and Linux. Capturing desktop audio is a separate guide.
Where Kalima is the wrong choice
- You want unlimited recording for nothing. Fathom's free tier is unlimited and Kalima's is two hours a week. On that requirement Kalima loses, and no amount of framing changes it.
- You buy on integrations. Kalima has no Zapier app, no native CRM connector and no calendar bot that joins meetings for you. Fireflies and Read AI are built around that expectation.
- You need an English-language brand your procurement team already knows. Otter is the default name in this category in the US, and its notes quality in English is why. If internal familiarity is doing the deciding, that is a legitimate reason.
- You are a student with one interview. Install noScribe or aTrain, run it overnight, pay nothing.
- You need compliance recording on a phone system. Recording inbound and outbound telephony for regulated retention is a different product category with different obligations. Kalima does not do it.
- You want a native mobile app. Kalima installs as a progressive web app, not from the App Store or Google Play.
The two axes most comparisons skip
Whether something joins the call
Half the tools in the table work by sending a participant into the meeting. That participant appears in the list, it is visible to everyone, and increasingly it is a governance question rather than a feature: administrators block notetaker bots by name, and some platforms now route unknown bots into an admission queue.
Kalima works the other way. It records the audio on your own device, so nothing is added to the participant list and no connection is made to Zoom, Teams or Meet at all. That is a capability statement, not a way to record people quietly. Tell the other participants that you are transcribing, and check your local law and the meeting's terms before you start: in Germany, § 201 StGB protects the confidentiality of the spoken word, and consent from everyone present is the safe path. The longer explanation of how device-side capture works covers what it can and cannot do.
Where the audio is processed
Five of the fifteen make a geographic statement on their pricing page, Kalima among them, and the statements differ in strength. Sally says "All data is hosted on EU servers in Germany". Bliro says "All data is processed on servers in the EU in accordance with GDPR". Jamie says "Hosted in EU & GDPR compliant". Amberscript states GDPR-compliant file storage on EU servers. Notta names AWS without a region. Everyone else says nothing on the page, which is not an accusation, only an observation about what is published where a buyer will see it.
Kalima's statement, in full: all primary processing happens on EU-based servers, and where data must leave the EU, Standard Contractual Clauses or equivalent safeguards apply. Kalima is developed and operated by ByteHawk GmbH in Düsseldorf, Germany. Transcripts and audio are never used to train models, and you can export or delete your data yourself. What that means for a data protection review is set out on the trust page. Treat every vendor's wording here as a starting point for your own check, not a substitute for it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best meeting transcription software overall?
There is no overall answer, because the tools differ most on constraints rather than quality. Pick by the binding constraint: Fathom if unlimited free recording decides it, Otter if English notes and brand familiarity decide it, Sonix or Amberscript if you buy hours rather than seats, Kalima if you need live transcription and translation and nothing may join the call.
What is a good Otter.ai alternative for long recordings?
Otter Pro stops at 90 minutes per meeting and Business at four hours, both read on 22 September 2026. For recordings past 90 minutes without moving to Otter Business, the options in this table are Notta Pro (up to five hours per recording), Fathom (unlimited, no stated cap) and Kalima Pro (300-minute live sessions, and uploaded files up to five hours). See the full Kalima and Otter.ai comparison.
How do I transcribe a 3 hour meeting?
Choose a tier whose per-recording ceiling clears three hours before you start, because most tools stop the recording rather than truncating it afterwards. If the meeting has already happened and you have the file, upload it instead: that path has its own limits, and the guide to transcribing an existing recording covers formats and sizes.
Which transcription tool has the lowest cost per hour?
Of the plans with a published included volume, Kalima Pro works out lowest at about 0.13 EUR per included hour (293.88 EUR a year for 42 hours a week), followed by Transkriptor Pro annual at 0.21 USD. But Fathom's free tier is unlimited at zero, so on pure cost per recorded hour nothing beats it. All figures read from the vendors' pricing pages on 22 September 2026.
Do any of these work without a bot joining the meeting?
Yes, and more than a year ago the answer would have been shorter. Kalima captures on your own device and never connects to the meeting platform. Fathom offers a bot-free capture mode in beta on Mac. Notta ships a bot-free desktop recorder for Mac and Windows. Tactiq works through a Chrome extension. Fireflies lists recording through its Chrome extension without its bot. Granola and Bliro are built around device-side capture.
Is there a free meeting transcription tool that is actually usable?
Fathom's free plan states unlimited recordings and transcriptions. Beyond that the free tiers are small: Otter 300 minutes a month with a 30-minute conversation cap, Notta 120 minutes with a three-minute cap, Read AI five transcripts, Jamie ten notes with a 30-minute cap, Tactiq ten transcripts, Kalima two hours a week with 45-minute sessions. For offline file transcription, noScribe and aTrain are free without limits of any kind.
Related
Try Kalima on your next call.
Live transcription and translation, no bot in the meeting. Free to start.
Keep reading.
Guides12 min read
Microsoft Teams Facilitator: what it needs, where it stops, and an alternative
Facilitator takes live notes, keeps the agenda and answers questions inside a Teams meeting. It also needs a Copilot licence, Loop, a scheduled meeting, one spoken language and no external guests. This guide lists every condition as of September 2026, the failures people report on Microsoft Q&A, and where Kalima fits instead.
Guides10 min read
'99 % accurate' means nothing: how to read a transcription accuracy claim, and how to catch the errors that matter
Every transcription vendor publishes an accuracy percentage, and none of them mean the same thing by it. This is how word error rate is calculated, what it weighs equally that you do not, and a 20-minute test you can run on your own recordings.
Guides9 min read
How to transcribe a meeting where people switch languages mid-sentence
Most meeting tools ask you to name the language before you start, then transcribe as if the answer stayed true. In a German call carrying English terms, it does not. Here is what breaks and what to do instead.